Cricket

‘He made a mistake’ – NZ Cricket hold hands up over Daryl Mitchell LBW shocker | 1 NEWS NOW

New Zealand Cricket have held their hands up over umpire Shaun Haig’s decision to give Daryl Mitchell out LBW in last week’s second T20 International at Eden Park, admitting the wrong decision was made.

Mitchell, 27, was given out in the sixth over of the Black Caps’ seven wicket defeat, however the batsman’s review appeared to show he’d in fact hit the ball, which should have resulted in the decision being overturned.

However, third umpire Shaun Haig stayed with the on-field decision, leaving Mitchell out for just one run as the Black Caps limped to 158/8 from their 20 overs – which India chased down with seven wickets and seven balls to spare.

Appearing on Radio Sport this morning, New Zealand Cricket’s match officials manager Sheldon Eden-Whaitiri said that the final decision was incorrect.

“On reflection, on review … we’ve deemed he made an error there,” Eden-Whaitiri.

“There was a hotspot, he should have gone with that … but he’s the first to put his hand up post the event and say he got .. he made an error, he got that one wrong, he made a mistake.”

Although the Black Caps would lose the match by seven wickets, New Zealand still took the three match series 2-1, thanks to a four-run victory in Hamilton on Sunday night.



Read Full Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *