NBA

NBA Officiating Getting Destroyed For Its New Tweet

During yesterday’s battle between the Detroit Pistons and the Washington Wizards, the outstanding performance from Blake Griffin was outshined by a bizarre no-call from the officiating crew. To make matters worse, the refs still won’t admit their mistake from last night.

Bradley Beal did captivate the crowd with his 32 points and 10 assists, but the star guard had the basketball world buzzing due to one particular play.

Although Beal carried Washington throughout the game, it’s hard to ignore one of the most bizarre plays of the entire season. In the fourth quarter of action, the All-Star guard took about six steps to the rim without being called for a travel.

Here is the play:

Instead of admitting the error from yesterday, the official account for NBA referees decided to say that Beal didn’t actually travel.

“The offensive player gathers with his right foot on the ground. He then takes two legal steps, before losing control of the ball. After regaining possession, a player is allowed to regain his pivot foot and pass or shoot prior to that foot returning to the ground. This is legal,” the official account tweeted.

Doubling down on the call might open the door for players to “accidentally” lose control of the ball on certain drives to the basket.

Fortunately for the association in this particular instance, the missed call didn’t affect the outcome of the game.





Read Full Article

Categories: NBA

Tagged as: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *